International Journal of History | Logo of History Journal
  • Printed Journal
  • Refereed Journal
  • Peer Reviewed Journal

International Journal of History

2020, Vol. 2, Issue 1, Part A

The early social history of Andhra Desa

Author(s): Kore Pushpavathi

Abstract: Andhra Desa mainly comprises the present State of Andhra Pradesh and parts of bordering neighbour states of Orissa, Karnataka and Maharashtra. As a political division Andhra Pradesh is known in the contemporary Indian Union as the first linguistic state formed during 1956 as most of the population - speak Telugu language1. This linguistic zone has three subdivisions. On the east and north-east can be seen the wider coastal area with Bay of Bengal and with many a break due to the interspersing Eastern Ghats having different names at different regions like Veligondalu, Palakondalu, Seshachalam, Errammalai, and Nallamalai. This area is called as Coastal Andhra comprising the districts of Srikakulam, Vijayanagaram, Visakhapatnam, West Godavari, East Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam and Nellore. The present area covering the districts of Khammam, Warangal, Kareemnagar, Adilabad, Nizamabad, Medak, Ranga Reddy, Hyderabad and Mahaboobnagar which were mostly under the rule of Nizams of Hyderabad is known as Telengana, The term Telengana is believed to have been derived from the word “Telanganamu”, literally meaning the land of the Telugu speaking people. The remaining districts of Chittoor, Cuddapah, Anantapur and Kurnool are known as Rayalaseema after the rulers of four Vijayanagara dynasties, who had a suffix “Raya” to their names.

Pages: 32-34 | Views: 1963 | Downloads: 1324

Download Full Article: Click Here
How to cite this article:
Kore Pushpavathi. The early social history of Andhra Desa. Int J Hist 2020;2(1):32-34.
Related Journal Subscription
International Journal of History

International Journal of History

International Journal of History
Call for book chapter